1 Year Anniversary

Today is the 1 year anniversary of my grandmother’s death. Last year at the end of January I had just come back from a semester abroad in Australia. It was nice to be back and close to family and loved ones, but it didn’t stay pleasant for long. My grandmother had been behaving strangely and we thought it might be Alzheimer’s, but a couple weeks later she suffered a stroke, and doctors found a brain tumour. It was inoperable and doctors gave her 2 months to live. My grandmother clung on for 3 months and it was the most difficult time of my life. We were really close and all the things I cherish most from my childhood are from her.

This baby pillow and care bear (which isn’t actually a care bear) have traveled with me to Ottawa, Montreal, California, San Fransisco, Hong Kong and Australia.

This Sesame Street toy has been with me since I was about 5. I remember sitting in the family room with my Grandmother and cousin Julie and my grandma telling me to choose a present (I can’t remember if it was for my birthday or Christmas though). I’m pretty sure it was a Zeller’s flyer she held in front of me. Thinking back to it, it’s pretty amazing that my grandmother who couldn’t speak English and didn’t drive was able to go out and get this for me.

I’m really grateful that I had someone who loved me so much and I wish I could’ve been here for her before she got sick…

Leave a Reply

