Quit Facebook Day – May 31, 2010

Launched by Joseph Dee and Matthew Milan, today is the first ever “Quit Facebook Day”. Recently, Facebook has been all over the news receiving some negative criticism over its privacy policy.  I think the concern by users in valid, especially with the increase of online identity theft. When I signed up for Facebook and set up my privacy settings I thought that would be it, I didn’t expect it to be changed on me and when I found out it was I was upset. I use Facebook to play Restaurant City (yes I’m one of those people) and for photo sharing and I don’t want to have to worry about my pictures and information showing up somewhere they don’t belong, like with the Smith family from Missouri who showed up in a Czech Republic ad.

Now on a side note somewhat related, I love crime shows. I loved the original CSI with the original cast and now I love watching Criminal Minds. One of the most recent episode was entitled “The Internet Is Forever” and about a killer using the internet to stalk victims. It was an interesting episode and I know it’s just a show and it’s a one a million chance, but I’d prefer to err on the side of caution. Watch it and you’ll understand.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

