The 4th Quarter

I take the name of my post from a eulogy that my brother gave for our cousin Jordan, whom recently passed away. He was 20. He would have tuned 21 in November. He had a severe asthma attack lost consciousness and stopped breathing. He went without oxygen for approx. 15 mins before he was revived. Two days after he was admitted to the hospital he had a seizure while in a coma, the doctors told us to prepare for the worst and we did. They ran multiple tests and found that Jordan still had some activity in his brain stem, so we had hope. We stayed with him for 5 days straight and on the 6th day the doctors did another test to see if Jordan could breathe on his own. Life was predicated on whether or not he could breathe, unassisted, for two minutes. He couldn’t. I lost my baby cousin, and the world lost an amazing young man.

The 4th quarter is considered the most important times in sports, it’s when a team pulls together to go for the gold, the one last push. The 4th quarter is also what Jord called a small group of his closest friends and what our family went through the last week of Jordan’s life. I’m still reeling from the events of the last 2 weeks. It’s so cliche to say you never appreciate how short or precious life is, but it’s true. I hate that this is the event that made me realize that. I want to live like I’m in the 4th quarter, I don’t know how, but I’m going to try. I’m going to try to stick to my goals (hence the surge of posts) and I’m going to try to see and do as much as I can.

Jordan, you were always an inspiration. No matter what trouble you got into, you always tried your best to do good, and we knew that. I love you.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

