2012 Saving Plans

Two years out of school, I’m still overwhelmed by student debt. So before the new year, I decided on my resolution to Save, and pay down this debt. I thought of two quick ways to do this, change my phone plan to something cheaper that would provide me with more services and the second, to open a Tax Free Savings account. Check and Check, off to a good start.

At the beginning of the year, I went to lunch with some family and we decided to start our own Family Savings Group. Four of us agreed to go on a cash allowance. I get $100 a week of play money, which for me is quite a lot. Weekends are the worst for me, as spending during the week is limited to morning coffee, but that was a bit much. Now that I only get to carry cash with me, I’m more aware of the fact that I spend almost $10 a week on coffee.

So far so good, 3 weeks in and I’m still keeping with my new year resolutions, now if i had bought a gym membership for new year, I wonder if I’d still be on track…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

